Connect with us


De Jong, Depay in Netherlands’ Euro ’24 squad



Netherlands coach Ronald Koeman will gamble on the fitness of key midfielder Frenkie de Jong and forward Memphis Depay after including the duo in his final 26-man selection for the European Championship in Germany on Wednesday.

Both have been struggling with injuries of late but with UEFA having extended squad sizes from 23 to 26 players for the June 14-July 14 finals, it is a risk worth taking for Koeman as he seeks to win a first continental title with the side since 1988, a tournament he played in.

Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (U.S.)

In a news conference, Koeman said he expects De Jong will be available for their first game of the tournament against Poland on June 16, though wasn’t certain on how many minutes the midfielder could play.

There is no place for the uncapped left-back Ian Maatsen, who will feature for Borussia Dortmund against Real Madrid in the Champions League final on Saturday and had been expected to be part of the squad.

Quinten Timber and goalkeeper Nick Olij also miss out, along with injured Atalanta midfielder Marten de Roon, providing an opportunity for Liverpool’s Ryan Gravenberch to make a return to the team for the first time in over a year.

Netherlands Euro 2024 squad:

Goalkeepers: Justin Bijlow (Feyenoord), Mark Flekken (Brentford, England), Bart Verbruggen (Brighton)

Defenders: Nathan Ake (Manchester City, England), Daley Blind (Girona FC, Spain), Stefan de Vrij (Inter Milan, Italy), Lutsharel Geertruida (Feyenoord), Denzel Dumfries (Inter Milan, Italy), Matthijs de Ligt (Bayern Munich, Germany), Jeremy Frimpong (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany), Micky van de Ven (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool, England)

Midfielders: Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), Ryan Gravenberch (Liverpool), Teun Koopmeiners (Atalanta), Tijjani Reijnders (AC Milan), Jerdy Schouten (PSV Eindhoven), Xavi Simons (RB Leipzig), Joey Veerman (PSV Eindhoven), Georginio Wijnaldum (Al Ettifaq)

Forwards: Steven Bergwijn (Ajax), Brian Brobbey (Ajax), Memphis Depay (Atlético Madrid), Cody Gakpo (Liverpool), Donyell Malen (Borussia Dortmund), Wout Weghorst (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany).

Continue Reading