Sunday, December 10, 2023

ICC Cricket World Cup: Player of the Tournament of all the World Cup editions as Virat Kohli wins the award

Must read

Image count1 / 9

1992 | Martin Crowe (New Zealand): The Kiwi middle-order batsman became the first player to be awarded the Man of the Tournament award in the history of the World Cup. Crowe smashed 456 runs in nine matches as he made the most of the home advantage and got dismissed only on four occasions. His best score of 100 not out came against Trans-Tasman rival Australia. (Image: Youtube)


Image count2 / 9

1996 | Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka): Jayasuriya’s all-round contribution played a crucial role in Sri Lanka’s World Cup winning campaign. Playing in six games, Jayasuriya scored 221 runs and grabbed 7 wickets in the tournament jointly hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.(Image: Cricket World Cup)


Image count3 / 9

1999 | Lance Klusener (South Africa):  In Klusner, South Africa found a competent all-rounder who scored 281 runs and picked 17 wickets in nine matches. Batting down the order, he played the role of a finisher with his hard hitting skills. He also picked three or more wickets in three matches that included a 5-for. However, even with his all-round contribution, South Africa was knocked out in the epic semi final against Australia that ended in a tie as Australia finished above them in the Super Sixes.(Image: Reuters)


Image count4 / 9

2003 | Sachin Tendulkar (India): Sachin became the highest run scorer in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2003 with 673 runs from 11 matches, and he was ahead of the second-placed Saurav Ganguly by more than 200 runs. He smashed six half-centuries and a century in the tournament, batting up the order. In this edition of the tournament, India reached the final, where it lost to Australia. (Image: Reuters)


Image count5 / 9

2007 | Glenn McGrath (Australia): With 26 wickets in 11 matches, McGrath not only became the highest wicket taker but also won the Man of the Tournament as Australia became the four-time World Champions. He also had an impressive economy of 4.41 in the tournament, playing in his fourth World Cup. (Image: Reuters)


Image count6 / 9

2011 | Yuvraj Singh (India): Yuvraj was one of the key players as India claimed the trophy after a long wait of 28 years. Yuvraj scored 362 runs in nine matches that included a ton and a half-century. He also grabbed 15 wickets in as many matches with an economy of 5.02 to become the Player of the Tournament. (Image: Reuters)


Image count7 / 9

2015 | Mitchell Starc (2015): The Australian pacer picked 22 wickets in eight matches with a magnificent economy of 3.50 in the World Cup jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand. Starc’s skill of dismissing batters with both new ball and old ball played a major role as Australia won the fifth World Cup title. (Image: Reuters)


Image count8 / 9

2019 | Kane Williamson (New Zealand): Even though New Zealand missed out on winning the tournament by a whisker after a tied super over in the final against England at Lord’s, the Kiwi skipper amassed 578 runs in 11 matches. He smashed two centuries and as many half-centuries to take his team to the finals.(Image: Reuters)


Image count9 / 9

2023 | Virat Kohli (India): Virat Kohli broke several records in this edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup with 765 runs in 11 matches that included three tons and six half centuries. Among the many records, Kohli also shattered the record for most runs in an edition of the World Cup, even as India lost the final against Australia at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. (Image: Reuters)

Latest article