Connect with us


T20 World Cup 2024: Scott Edwards Named Captain As Netherlands Announce 15-member Squad, Ackermann, Van der Merwe Miss Out



T20 World Cup 2024 Netherlands Squad: Experienced Scott Edwards was on Monday named as the captain of the Netherlands for next month’s T20 World Cup, the Royal Dutch Cricket Association announced.

The 27-year-old Edwards was elected the skipper despite his modest outings in the recent tri-series, involving hosts Nepal and Namibia.

Overall, he has played 56 T20I for the Netherlands, scoring 671 runs at a strike rate of 122.

Indian-origin cricketers – Teja Nidamanuru, Vikram Singh and Aryan Dutt – are also part of the squad.

ALSO READ: Babar Azam Achieves Historic Feat With Pakistan’s Win Over Ireland In 2nd T20I

This is the third successive ICC showpiece event the Netherlands are participating in after the T20 World Cup in 2022 and last year’s 50-over World Cup.

The Netherlands will play another tri-series at home alongside Ireland and Scotland between May 18 and 24 before flying out for their group matches which are spread across the USA and the West Indies.

Holland will begin their T20 World Cup campaign on June 4 against Nepal at Dallas and four days later will face formidable South Africa in New York.

Their last two group matches are against Bangladesh (June 13) and Sri Lanka (June 17), and those games will be played at St Vincent and St Lucia respectively.

“We have been able to select a well-balanced team which we are confident will be able to perform in the conditions against the opposition we face in the US and West Indies,” head coach Ryan Cook said.

ALSO READ: Sourav Ganguly’s Act Of Respect For Virat Kohli Goes Viral Amid Rift Rumors

“All of the players have been training well and have been involved in the recent ProSeries with some exciting performances showing the growing depth and quality in Netherlands cricket. We have managed to perform admirably in the last two World Cups we have participated in and will be determined to rise to the challenges we face ahead to reach the next round of the tournament.”

Netherlands squad: Scott Edwards (captain), Aryan Dutt, Bas de Leede, Daniel Doram, Fred Klaassen, Kyle Klein, Logan van Beek, Max O’Dowd, Michael Levitt, Paul van Meekeren, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, Tim Pringle, Vikram Singh and Wesley Barresi.

Travelling reserve: Kyle Klein

Continue Reading