Sunday, February 25, 2024

What to know about the 2024 Chubb Classic golf tournament in Naples

Must read

The Chubb Classic, Naples’ oldest professional golf tournament, returns this week to Tiburón Golf Club’s Black Course in Naples.

Now in its 37th year, the Chubb is the longest-running PGA Tour Champions event in the same metropolitan area. The senior golf event begins with Thursday’s Pro-Am followed by a 54-hole championship from Friday through Sunday.

This is the third consecutive year the Chubb will be at Tiburón, the ninth Naples course to host the tournament, which began as the Aetna Challenge in 1988.   

Here’s a guide to know and what to expect once you arrive.

Who won the Chubb Classic last year?

In 2023, the ageless Bernhard Langer earned his fifth career Chubb championship, and second in a row, by holding off Padraig Harrington and Naples resident Steve Stricker for a three-shot win. The title earned the now 66-year-old Langer his 45th Champions victory, which tied Hale Irwin’s all-time mark. Last July, Langer notched his record-breaking 46th win at the U.S. Senior Open.

Langer will not get the opportunity to defend his Chubb title, however. On Feb. 2, he announced he tore his Achilles tendon during a training exercise. With an estimated recovery time of up to 12 months, Langer will likely miss the remainder of the 2024 Champions schedule.

How much are Chubb Classic tickets?

There are four ticket options for fans:

Daily Grounds — $20-$50 until Feb. 12. General admission daily grounds, valid Thursday, Feb. 15 (Pro-Am), and Friday-Sunday, Feb. 16-18 (tournament rounds). Prices are $20 (Thursday), $40 (Friday, Saturday), $50 (Sunday).

Weekly Grounds — $100. General admission daily grounds, valid Thursday-Sunday, Feb. 15-18.

Michelob Ultra Legends Lounge 17th Green Skybox — $175 per day, Friday-Sunday, Feb. 16-18. Semi-private hospitality lounge offering exclusive views of the 17th green. Includes lunch buffet, snacks, water and soft drinks.

Conditioned Air Club 18th Green Skybox — $400 per day. $175 per day, Friday-Sunday, Feb. 16-18. Semi-private luxury suite overlooking the 18th green. Includes catered lunch options,  hors d’oeuvres, afternoon snacks, and full open bar.

All tickets are available at

Where do I park for the Chubb Classic?

Parking is $15 per day.  General parking is located at Lot B (Thursday only) at St. Katherine Greek Orthodox Church and Lot C (Friday through Sunday) at the Naples Italian American Foundation on Airport Pulling Road. 

Handicap parking is located in a designated area in the same lots as General Parking. A government-issued parking pass is required.

What’s new this year at the Chubb Classic?

This year’s tournament will mark the debut of the Tito’s Champions Lawn, a new fan experience area located behind the clubhouse. It will feature storyboards honoring some of the Chubb Classic’s past champions, a tournament leaderboard, music and games.

Also in a nod to its history, one of the concession areas available for fans on the course has been renamed “Cafe 46” in a nod to Chubb legend Bernhard Langer’s record of 46 career PGA Tour Champions victories.

Is there something for veterans and first responders?

The SERVPRO Hero Outpost, adjacent to the 17th green, includes complimentary admission for all service personnel, including military (active, retired, reserve, and veteran), police, fire, and EMS and front-line health workers (doctors and nurses) as well as a plus one. The Hero Outpost will provide free food courtesy of Michelbob’s Championship Rib & Steak. Tickets must be reserved online and are available at Reserved tickets and proper ID will be required at the main entrance.

How to watch the Chubb Classic?

Fans who can’t make it out to Tiburón can watch all three days of the tournament live on the Golf Channel and Peacock.

Friday’s first-round coverage will air from noon to 3 p.m. while Saturday’s second round and Sunday’s final round will both be broadcast from 3 to 5 p.m.

Chubb Classic’s all-time champions list

1988: Gary Player

1989: Gene Littler

1990: Lee Trevino

1991: Lee Trevino

1992: Jimmy Powell

1993: Mike Hill

1994: Mike Hill

1995: Bob Murphy

1996: Al Geiberger

1997: Hale Irwin

1998: Gil Morgan

1999: Allen Doyle

2000: Lanny Wadkins

2001: Gil Morgan

2002: Hale Irwin

2003: Vicente Fernandez

2004: Craig Stadler

2005: Mark James

2006: Loren Roberts

2007: Bobby Wadkins

2008: Scott Hoch

2009: Loren Roberts

2010: Fred Couples

2011: Bernhard Langer

2012: Kenny Perry

2013: Bernhard Langer

2014: Kirk Triplett

2015: Lee Janzen

2016: Bernhard Langer

2017: Fred Couples

2018: Joe Durant

2019: Miguel Angel Jimenez

2020: Scott Parel

2021: Steve Stricker

2022: Bernhard Langer

2023: Bernhard Langer

Latest article